Feds Leadership Awards




Every year the Federation of Students recognizes up to 10 student leaders on the University of Waterloo campus through the Feds Student Leadership Awards. Recipients of the awards will have demonstrated exemplary leadership skills in various ways at the University of Waterloo and/or in the surrounding community. The winners are presented a certificate of distinction at the Feds Leadership Awards Banquet in the winter term.

Leadership Award Nominations

The applications will be reviewed to determine if the individual falls within the scope of one or more of the following criteria:

  1. Leadership in a student leadership position(s) in the Federation of Students;
  2. Service to the undergraduate students at the University of Waterloo; 
  3. Involvement and contributions to undergraduate student life within the Federation of Students and at the University of Waterloo.

Do you know someone on campus who deserves to be rewarded for their hard work and leadership skills? To submit a nomination, fill out and submit this online nomination form.

The deadline for nominations is March 8th at 11:59pm. For any questions email pres@feds.ca

Past Recipients

Congratulations to the past winners of the Federation of Students Leadership Awards!

Leadership Award Winners 2015-2016

Melanie Osmond: “Melanie Osmond has proven to be a pivotal leadership figure on campus, contributing greatly to the welfare of students in multiple roles she has held in her time here.  Melanie has been a leader to the students of the University in a myriad of ways, cutting across not only her program and faculty, but also as part of Orientation and Greek Council.”

Joel Le Forestier: “He instills confidence in others, the kind of confidence that people need to believe in themselves. He makes people want to work harder and be better. He inspires those who work with and for him to be the best they can be. Isn’t that what a true leader does?  Encourage and inspire people to be their best. Joel plays an integral role in so many departments on campus, demonstrating at every avenue what a true leader is.”

Fatema Boxwala: “She encourages anyone interested to involve themselves in the decision making process, and helps them acquire the skills necessary to do so. She provides unconditional support to her friends, committee members, and constituents, helping them through parts of University life that would otherwise discourage or deter them from involving themselves at all in the University community. Without her leadership, the University community would be a little less inclusive, a little less participatory, and a little less welcoming.”

Nadia Gilani: “Nadia has been involved with a multitude of leadership opportunities on campus and at each one she has inspired future UWaterloo student leaders with her drive, community spirit, and integrity. Nadia’s contributions to campus will continue even as she graduates in the new generation of student leaders she has passionately mentored. Nadia has been involved in numerous leadership activities and leads each with passion and dedication.”

Ana Krstanovic: “A leader is not only somebody that effectively manages a team, but it is somebody that encourages people to give their best, and at the same time to discover new skills. Ana is a strong public speaker, a great communicator, and these are some skills that she would encourage others to develop.”

Zainab Mahmood: “Her leadership abilities also reach outside of the UWaterloo community, having coop terms in the Waterloo and Peel communities. What I have always enjoyed about Zainab’s character is that she is always willing to commit to something if it helps to support the people and communities that she cares about. I am very excited to see what she has in store for her future, as I know that without a doubt she will continue to be a strong leader in whatever role she pursues next.”

Nefisa Ansong: “It is hard not to be influenced by Nefisa’s optimism, positive sense of humour and kindness. She is continuously looking for ways to improve herself and help people in need. For example, Nefisa worked tirelessly and distributed foods for students and community members through the Food Not Bombs campaign. She keeps her eye on the future making plans to take her University of Waterloo experience out into the legal world.”

Brandon Gaffoor: “Brandon worked diligently as an advocate for students’ best interests. Volunteering for many committees, Environment students were lucky to have a student leader like Brandon serving them. Brandon always has multiple leadership opportunities on the go – and while he is certainly busy – he is always purposeful and thoughtful in his work. Brandon has shown true dedication to our campus and the students here.” 

Leadership Award Winners 2014-2015
Gerry Zhang
Allyson Francis
Elizabeth McFaul
Jesse McGinnis
Paula Colaso
Prateeksha Ravi
Deanna Priori
Mike Cimetta
Matt McLean
Laura Zhang

Leadership Award Winners 2013-2014
Cate Flanagan
Chris Lolas
Zac Hogg
Judy Truong
Alexis Hunt
Vanessa Alumbo
Krystin Scheels

Leadership Award Winners 2012-2013
Mujeeb Duranai
Alessia Danelon
Rob Savoy
Saleema Bhaidani
Jessica Kumordzie
Kristen Leal
Mujtaba Arshad
Jacky Au Duong
Andrew Fisher

Leadership Award Winners 2011-2012
Christina Romualdo
Jeff Bunn
Fatma Avci
AM Begin
Cailin Hillier
Jon Cluett
Phyllis Ho
Andre Magalhaes

Leadership Award Winners 2010-2011
Nizar Hasan
Darcy Alemany
Piraveena Tharmalingam
Michael Seliske
Sarah Thompson

Leadership Award Winners 2009-2010
Jeffrey Baer
Brittany Boilard
Cat Hay
Kieng Iv
Anna Katsios
Diane Kishi
Christine Lu
Theresa Power
Jay Shah
Hayden Tay

Leadership Award Winners 2008-2009
Mona Anton
Sam Andrey
Greg Cartmell
Monica Chamberland
Sarah Cook
Caustan De Riggs
Reemah Khalid
Chris Neal
Nicholas Terwoord
Calvin Weekes
Danielle Woon

Leadership Award Winners 2007-2008
Allan Babor
Rob Blom
Renjie Butalid
Caitlin Cull
Steve Hayle
Matt Heppler
Ross Ricupero
Mike Spendlove
Kristin Valles
Claire Van Nierop

Leadership Award Winners 2006-2007
Drew Adams
Rob Allie
Rebecca Baxter
Jen Carroll
Kate Daley
Greg Fitzgerald
Darcy Higgins
Andrea Murphy
Racquel Passley
Rajat Suri

Leadership Award Winners 2005-2006
Haruka Shoji
Graeme Baer
Nick Lawler
Heather Anderson
Karim Lallani
Michael Tersigni
Donna Craig
Sabrina Bowman
Sarah Lewis
Samir Patel